Tessa is an American Staffordshire Terrier, born on 5/26/07.

Distinguishing Characteristics

A big beautiful head

Do you have any canine housemates?

2 sisters, one is a pitbull and the other a shep mix

How did you join your family? 

I was adopted from Angel4 Cause rescue after being fostered for 5 mos.

Do you have any “jobs”? Tell us about them and what you like most about them. 

I am a Delta Therapy Dog and have been for over 2 years.  I am also a Rainbow Therapy dog for the last 2 years.  I visit extended care facilities, Humane Educ. Days at schools and best of all, I do Animal Assisted Therapy with a 9 year old Autistic Boy every week!  That is a lot of fun because he throws balls for me, trains me and gives me treats, makes sure I get water when I'm thirsty and even walks me.

Do you have any "hobbies"?

Tessa is my name, squirrel chasing is my game.

What is your favorite toy?

I love to play with sticks from the yard and tennis balls but my Mom won't let me know have the tennis balls too often cause I tend to pop them with my big jaw!

What is your favorite treat?

Anything I can eat.

What do you like to do when your parents aren’t home?

Sometimes I steal stuff out of the garbage but mostly I sleep because Mom always leaves plenty of blankets around for me to cuddle with.

Is there anything you would like to tell us about your work with Safe Humane Chicago or anything else?

I like meeting all the new people. I hope they like meeting me too.    I also like taking trips into the city for something different.  All the people and the new canines I meet are so nice.