Oz is a male Flat Coated Retriever born on 8/6/00

Distinguishing Characteristics

Oz is very smart and affectionate.

Do you have any canine housemates?

Nope but I do have to cat brothers Barney and Stormy.

How did you join your family?

I found myself running on Lake Shore Drive with no collar or chip and some nice guys picked me up and took me to The Anti-Cruelty Society where Linda eventually found me.

Do you have any “jobs”? Tell us about them and what you like most about them.

I do animal assisted therapy work with Rainbow Animal Assisted Therapy Group. I work in programs, help teach introduction to animal assisted therapy classes, go to festivals and events to help raise awareness of animal assisted therapy and money for the organization. I just started doing some work with Safe Humane Chicago and I love having mom talk about compassion for animals and dog safety. I like the attention and affection and helping people appreciate how important the animal-humane bond can be. I also like to show off all my skills/tricks. The treats I get after doing stuff can be a nice benefit.

Do you have any “hobbies”?

Swimming. Letting kids in the neighborhood pet me and make me do tricks while mom tells them about being kind to animals.

Do you do any tricks? What is your favorite?

Not to brag, but I can do lots of tricks. No favorites because I also like to learn new ones.

What is your favorite toy?

My stuffed animals and tennis balls.

What is your favorite treat?

I am not fussy about dog treats but the only “people” food I get is cheese so I do love all kinds of cheeses.

What do you like to do when your parents aren’t home?

At this age, I’m starting to sleep more but I keep watch over the house. I like to look out all the windows to see what is going on in the ‘hood’. Occasionally, I play with the cats, Barney and Stormy.

Is there anything you would like to tell us about your work with Safe Humane Chicago or anything else?

I am hoping to do more work with Safe Humane Chicago when my mom retires.